Welcome to the website of the NEU in East Sussex


The East Sussex County Division of the NUT is responsible for representing members in negotiation with the Education Department and school and college governing bodies. We have access to advice and support from the Regional Secretary and her team at the Regional Office, which includes a solicitor and from headquarters staff.

The Division is made up of two local associations through which teachers join the Union and become part of the East Sussex and national membership. These are the Hastings and District and the Lewes, Eastbourne and Wealden Associations. School representatives have a supply of membership forms and it is also possible to join by telephone (0845-300 1669) or via the Union’s website. You will need your bank details to set up a direct debit arrangement.

The Division Council is a delegate body elected by the two Associations with Officers who are directly elected by members. Meetings are held at least on a half termly basis and members are welcome as observers. The AGM is held in March.

Casework on behalf of members can be undertaken at Association, Division or Regional Office level when school representatives are not available either owing to time constraints or where the nature of the issues makes this more appropriate.

Dave Brinson - Division Secretary Tel 01323 643770
Regional Office Tel 01444 894500